Pupils must attend school on 190 days per year.  The school year is normally divided into three terms - autumn, spring and summer, but some schools may organise their school year into four terms. 

Term dates for community schools in Newcastle

The local authority determines the school term and holiday dates for community schools in Newcastle, which are Byker Primary School,  Moorside Primary School and Walbottle Campus.

All other schools - voluntary aided (faith) schools, foundation schools, studio schools, free schools and academies, have responsibility for setting their own term dates which may be different to the dates agreed by the local authority.  To ensure you have the correct term dates for your child's school, contact the school directly. 

Looking for places to go or fun things to do?

Check out family school holiday activities on the Newcastle Support Directory.

If you need accessible and inclusive activities check out Newcastle's Local Offer.

School training days

In addition to the 190 pupil days during the school year, teaching staff must also be available for work on 5 extra days (or the equivalent of 30 hours). These days are commonly referred to as training days and are used for staff development.

Each individual school decides when their training days will take place. Some training days may be taken within the identified term times and on these days schools will be closed to pupils.

Schools often decide to have training days at the start or end of term which means that not all schools will start and end their terms at the same time. Your child's school will let you know when their term starts and finishes and when they will close for staff training.

Please contact your school for upcoming training days

Were you looking for:

Page last updated: 
18 March 2019
Was this page useful?