Ballot Box

There are 26 wards in Newcastle, each represented by 3 councillors. Elections in Newcastle are by thirds and are traditionally held on the first Thursday of May. Councillors are elected for a four year term and one councillor per ward retires each year; there are no elections in the fourth year.

Due to the recent Local Government Boundary Review there were all out elections in Newcastle on Thursday 3 May 2018. The all out elections does mean that all 78 seats are up for re-election with electors voting for up to 3 candidates.

Election Results from Thursday 3 May 2018

Find out how Newcastle voted in the Local Elections 2018.

View the declaration sheet with results from all wards (pdf, 144kb)

View the results for each ward including voter turnout using the carousel slideshow below.

Local Elections 2018 results

Political Composition of Council

View the current political composition of the council.

Polling station finder

You can find your local polling station here or use the map below.




  • The registration deadline is Tuesday 17 April 2018
  • Applying for a postal vote or changing an existing postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday 18 April 2018
  • Applying for a proxy vote is 5pm on Wednesday 25 April 2018


Previous elections

Register to vote

You can now register to vote online in as little as 3 minutes on the GOV.UK website. All you need is your name, address, date of birth and National Insurance number.


Electoral Services, Newcastle City Council, Civic Centre, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 8QH.  
Phone: 0191 278 7878 (and ask for Electoral Services)

Page last updated: 
8 May 2018
Was this page useful?