School term dates

School term dates

Individual schools set their own school days and term dates.

The dates on this page are set by the council for Local Authority maintained nursery schools, Byker Primary School and Walbottle Campus. Other schools are encouraged to use the same dates but don't have to. You will find individual school term dates on their own websites.

The school year starts in September and is usually organised into 3 terms with a 1 week holiday halfway through the term. 

Pupils spend 190 days (38 weeks) in school each year. 5 extra days are reserved for training teachers and support staff. Every school sets its own training dates and will tell parents if the school is closed to pupils.

School Year 2021 to 2022

Autumn term 2021

Term starts:  Monday 6 September 2021
Half term:  Monday 25 October 2021 to Friday 29 October 2021
Term ends:  Friday 17 December 2021

Spring term 2022

Term starts:  Tuesday 4th January 2022
Half term:  Monday 21st February 2022 to Friday 25th February 2022
Term ends:  Friday 8th  April 2022

Summer term 2022

Term starts:  Monday 25th April 2022
Half term:  Monday 30th May 2022 to Friday 3rd June 2022
Term ends:  Friday 22nd July 2022

School term dates calendar 2021/22

School Year 2022 to 2023

Autumn term 2022

Term starts: Monday 5th September 2022
Half term: Monday 24th October 2022 to Friday 28th October 2022
Term ends: Friday 23rd December 2022

Spring term 2023

Term starts: Tuesday 9th January 2023
Half term: Monday 20th February 2023 to Friday 24th February 2023
Term ends: Friday 31st March 2023

Summer term 2023

Term starts: Monday 17th April 2023
Half term: Monday 29th May 2023 to Friday 2nd June 2023
Term ends: Friday 21st July 2023

School term dates calendar 2022/23

Is this page useful?
Is this page useful?