Local Councillors


Three councillors represent each of the 26 wards in the city and usually are elected for a 4-year term. Councillors participate in the work of the council in a variety of ways to  help residents with problems involving the work of the council.  The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community but they have a special duty to the residents of their wards.  Councillors must agree to follow a code of conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties.  A copy of the code of conduct can be found in Newcastle Charter

Find your Councillor

Full list of Councillors

Know your Councillors Poster (pdf,1.1mb)

Cabinet Portfolios

Cabinet members are elected representatives given specific responsibilities for the work of the council. They provide overall direction and set the policy framework for services to work within. They are ultimately responsible for the decisions the council makes. Cabinet members have delegated powers to make specific decisions, which speeds up decision-making.

Cabinet Posts for 2020 -21 are as follows

Councillor Nick Forbes – Leader of the Council
Councillor Joyce McCarty – Deputy Leader of the Council and Cabinet member for Resources
Councillor Paula Holland – Cabinet member for Education and Skills
Councillor Ged Bell –Cabinet member for Employment and Culture
Councillor John-Paul Stephenson – Cabinet member for Environmental and Regulatory Services
Councillor Karen Kilgour – Cabinet member for Health and Social Care
Councillor Linda Hobson – Cabinet member for Housing
Councillor Arlene Ainsley – Cabinet member for Transport and Air Quality
Councillor Irim Ali - Cabinet member for Neighbourhoods and Public Health
Councillor Clare Penny-Evans – Cabinet member for Climate Change and Communities

Details of Cabinet responsibilities:  Know your Cabinet  (pdf, 337kb)


Political Composition

Current political makeup of the Council as at July 2020

Political Party Male Female Total
Labour 22 27 49
Liberal Democrats 13 7 20
Independents 2 0 2
Newcastle Independents,  Always putting Newcastle First 1 - 1
Vacancy     6
TOTAL 38 34 78


Councillors are paid a basic allowance which is £9,200 for 2022/22 and some have responsibility allowances for different roles that they take on. 

Members Allowances Scheme (pdf, 224kb)
Members Allowances for 2021/22 (pdf 115kb)

Councillors Allowances Paid 2019/20 (pdf, 159kb)
Councillors Allowances Paid 2018/19 (pdf, 172 kb)


Declaration of Interests and Register of Gifts and Hospitality

All councillors are required by law to complete a declaration of interests form to register their financial and other interests that could potentially conflict with their role as local councillor.  They are also required to declare any interests at the start of any council meeting where the interest conflicts with some or all the business to be discussed at that meeting.  They may not take part in the discussion of or vote on those items in which they have a prejudicial interest.  All councillors are also required to declare any gifts or hospitality.

Members Register of declarations of interest (pdf, 156kb)

Members Register of Gifts and Hospitality (csv, 17kb)

Need more information?

If you require any further information on Councillors and decision making contact:
Service Manager, Democratic Services
Linda Scott
Telephone: 0191 211 5159
Email: linda.scott@newcastle.gov.uk

Is this page useful?
Is this page useful?