What is a Conservation Area?

Conservation Areas are areas of special architectural or historic interest, which deserve careful management to protect that character.

The first conservation areas were designated in 1967 under the Civic Amenities Act, and there are now nearly 10,000 in England.

Conservation Areas In Newcastle

To date there are 12 conservation areas in the city, the boundaries of which can be accessed on an online map. These are listed below in order of designation.

Each of the conservation areas has a different character and quality which has led to its designation. Profiles of each conservation area have been prepared to provide basic information such as when it was designated and why, if it has been extended, how many listed buildings there are and if there are any extra planning controls.

  1. Brandling Village
  2. Central
  3. Framlington Place
  4. Gosforth
  5. Jesmond Dene
  6. Leazes
  7. Lower Ouseburn Valley
  8. Northumberland Gardens
  9. South Jesmond
  10. Summerhill
  11. St Nicholas Hospital 
  12. Walbottle 

The Council operates a rolling programme of conservation area management which covers new designations, a review of existing conservation areas and their boundaries, and the preparation of conservation area management plans to help ensure that the special qualities of these areas are not lost through inappropriate development.

A brief summary, and location map, of each conservation area can be found in the council's Conservation Area Profiles document (PDF 7.3MB, opens in new window).

Table with links to Conservation Area profiles, Character Statements and Management Plans


The Development Management Team have produced a guide for residents Living in a Conservation Area (PDF 3.2MB).

For further details/enquiries contact the Urban Design and Conservation Team.

Page last updated: 
22 October 2018
1 Start 2 Complete
Was this page useful?